USWNT players endorse Cindy Parlow Cone for President of American Football

On the eve of the United States Soccer Presidential election, 32 players from the United States Women‘s National Team endorsed incumbent Cindy Parlow Cone.

The players, who range from World Cup veterans including Megan Rapinoe and Becky Sauerbrunn, to new players like Trinity Rodman and Ashley Sanchez, said Cone “deeply understands the work that needs to be done to continue to create equality “.

“The United States Soccer Federation needs a leader who will move our sport forward, not backward. That’s why we endorse Cindy Parlow Cone for president,” the players wrote on Friday. “We respect Cindy’s integrity, her passion for the game as a former player and coach, her pragmatic approach as a business leader and her commitment to her players at all levels, from our national teams to the local.”

The election will take place on Saturday at US Soccer’s annual general meeting in Atlanta. Only US Soccer voters are eligible to vote in the election, and USWNT players are represented by the 23-player Athlete Council. Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger, Sauerbrunn and Lynn Williams, who all signed the letter, sit on the Athletes’ Council.

Cone is running against Carlos Cordeiro, the former president of US Soccer who resigned in March 2020. Cordeiro has faced backlash from sponsors and other stakeholders who have accused the federation of sexism for his derogatory language used in court filings during the USWNT’s equal pay lawsuit.

The players in their endorsement did not address Cordeiro, but Rapinoe made it clear earlier this week where his support lay, telling reporters that Cordeiro “definitely didn’t get my vote, that’s for sure.” The players and US Soccer have settled their equal pay lawsuit for a $24 million settlement, which they announced on February 22, during joint media appearances with Rapinoe, Cone and other players.

The players who signed the letter are: Jane Campbell, Alana Cook, Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Adrianna Franch, Morgan Gautrat, Ashlyn Harris, Ashley Hatch, Tobin Heath, Lindsey Horan, Sofia Huerta, Krieger, Casey Krueger, Rose Lavelle, Catarina Macario, Kristie Mewis, Sam Mewis, Morgan, Casey Murphy, Alyssa Naeher, Kelley O’Hara, Mallory Pugh, Midge Purce, Rapinoe, Rodman, Sanchez, Sauerbrunn, Sophia Smith, Emily Sonnett, Andi Sullivan and Williams.

“We see how much our colleagues in the United States Soccer Federation – from staff to executives – appreciate Cindy’s leadership and the cultural advancements she has championed, the players wrote. “The women’s game around the world is changing rapidly. The caliber of the game has never been higher and is only accelerating – and global interest from fans, sponsors and media continues to grow. exciting time for our sport.

“It is important to note that Cindy deeply understands the work that needs to be done to continue to create equality, put in place fair structures, improve the protection of players of all ages and break down the barriers that exist in our sport and in the world. within the United States Soccer Federation. Our recent settlement of the equal pay and working conditions agreement between the men’s and women’s national teams demonstrates its commitment to action.”

Comments are closed.